The Nigerian Cartographic Association was founded in 1978. The pioneer President and Secretary General were Professor Isaac Adalemo and Mr Yinka Balogun. Mr Balogun subsequently obtained his PhD and rose to the rank of Professor at the University of Lagos. He became the President of the Association from 1994-1997. The other personalities who served as Presidents are Mr. Ogunkoya, Mr Joel Ekpenyong, Mr Bello Wudil, Prof. Nelson Nsofor and Dr. W.D.C. Wokoma.

In a departure from the tradition of selection, Prof Isi A. Ikhuoria was democratically elected President at the 33rd Annual General meeting (AGM) held in Abuja on the 1st November, 2011 with 55 votes against 5 for his opponent. Professor Ikhuoria has pledged to address with vigour and transparency the many outstanding issues of the Association which include:

  • Formal registration of the Association
  • Membership drive aimed at revamping the Association at the national level and state chapters
  • Improved financial status
  • Create a website and other publicity channels (newsletter, journal and book publications)
  • Host international seminars and workshops
  • Secure professionalism of cartography in Government and Private sector organisations
  • Sustain organisation of annual conferences and AGM